Florencia en el Amazonas

I have attended my fair share of operas. Maybe not as many as some, but a fair number. I’ve also recently enjoyed quite a few modern productions as well. And I was excited that the Met was presenting a Spanish contemporary opera. But I really wasn’t expecting the impact that this work by Mexican composer, Daniel Catán, has had on me!!

The opera has been getting a lot of good buzz. Every single person who had been to see it reported, emphatically, how much they loved it. But I purposefully avoided looking up any information about it before going because I wanted to experience it totally fresh.

From the first notes of the orchestra, the orchestration reaches out and whisks you immediately away to a far off locale, then a gorgeous choral number sets the tone for the magical journey. This opera is a Gabriel Garcia Marquez dream meets Puccini meets director Guillermo del Toro. I won’t give away the story or any of the wonderful moments, but magical creatures do appear and they are so very lovely.

The cast is perfect. Again, not a thing one can often say. Every character was clearly defined, well-sung and riveting to watch. Of course, the star of the opera, had us all mesmerized. Ailyn Perez brought the entire house along with her on her dream journey while spinning pianissimi alla Liu (Turandot). Delicate and heart wrenching.

The rest of the cast, Nancy Fabiola Herrera, Gabriella Reyes, Michael Chioldi, Greer Grimsley, Mario Chang, Mattia Oliveri and Tyler Simpson were stellar and all put in great balances singing and characterization.

The orchestra, chorus and conductor, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, created the colors, nuances, and impressive beauty of the Amazon. And finally, costume designer, Ana Kuzmanić, must be praised for some of the most gorgeous and impressive costumes I have seen on the Met stage.

I cannot recommend this opera enough. And at just over 2 hours long, it’s even a good first opera to see.

Leave a comment