Camille Coloratura Awards

Last Fall I participated in the Camille Coloratura Awards competition. After over 20 years of not competing. (I really had only entered 3 other competitions ever before. I won first place as a 19 year old in a NYSTA song competition and then didn’t make it past the first round in the next 2 I entered). So entering this competition was kind of a big deal for me. For starters, it’s one of the few competitions that has a category for anyone 40+, which in this ageist world, is fantastic! Secondly, I have been on a journey of rebuilding for the past few years and even getting the courage to enter was a huge step.

Now, a little background about the actual competition. The award was started by Sharen Camille Becker, in honor of her mother, Camille Julig Herman, an opera singer herself. The award’s mission statement reads “This award is offered to students, professionals and accomplished singers who delight and excel in the art of coloratura repertoire.”

My experience with this competition was truly delightful from start to finish. From the process of filling out the form, to the way they handled correspondence and responses, to the selection process. I found it all to be very professional and kind. They treated the contestants with such respect and care. The competition took place at Towson University in Baltimore, Maryland. Preliminary rounds were online online. Everyone sent in a video under 5 minutes. The semi-finals and finals were held on the same day. Semi’s in the afternoon and then, if you were asked to stay for the final concert, it was the same evening. That made for a long day but they supplied us with drink and snacks. We had warm-up rooms, a large area to relax and nice dressing rooms. I felt they did all they could to put us all at ease.

What I love most about this competition is that it truly is a celebration of all things coloratura. It doesn’t attempt to pigeonhole the definition of coloratura but seeks to celebrate and highlight the many varied ways in which coloratura singing comes up in opera and oratorio. So whether you are a coloratura soprano by fach, or a large or low voice that just so happens to have great agility, this competition could be right for you!

As for me, I did okay! For the semi-finals, honestly, I wasn’t sure I was going to get into the next round because my second piece, “Mi Tradi”, which is usually pretty easy for me, I got into trouble with my sinus allergies suddenly flaring, as if I was suddenly having an allergic response to something. I suppose I should be thankful it didn’t happen on Bel Raggio! Luckily, the Bel Raggio was strong enough to get me into the finals… phew! Then for the final concert, I was still dealing with whatever allergen had assaulted me but I was able to sing pretty well and was awarded an Honorary Mention in the Accomplished Category (that’s what they call the 40+ category). I was more than pleased with the outcome and I’m wondering if I can enter again. I’d like to try to do better!

If you’re a singer with good coloratura/agility, regardless of style, or voice type, or age, I would totally recommend this competition.

Links below.

Camille Facebook

Camille YouTube

If you want to see my Final’s performance, see here: Celia’s Camille Coloratura Final

#camillecoloraturaawards #celiacastro #coloratura #competition #opera

Leave a comment